PRSA Portland Metro Chapter

2014 Spotlight Award Winners


Oct 14


October 17, 2014

For additional information:
Mark Mohammadpour, APR
PRSA Portland Metro Chapter
(360) 609-1077

Portland Metro’s Outstanding Public Relations Professionals Recognized at 2014 PRSA Spotlight Awards

PORTLAND, Ore. — Edelman and Maxwell PR were big winners at the 2014 Spotlight Awards, hosted by the Portland Metro Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). Edelman and Maxwell PR earned 11 of the 35 individual awards given to the region’s top communicators.

The sold-out event, held Oct. 16 at the Leftbank Annex in Portland, featured the presentation of the new Olga M. Haley Mentorship Award and honored six chapter members who have earned Accreditation in Public Relations (APR). Currently, 57 public relations professionals – nearly one-quarter of the chapter’s membership – have earned the APR, which is the profession’s only national post-graduate certification program.

PRSA Portland Metro Chapter President Barbara Kerr, APR, said, “The Spotlight Awards ceremony is one of the highlights of our year. It’s the night when we shine a spotlight on the outstanding work done by communications professionals in our region. We also honor individuals for their lasting contributions to our chapter and our profession.”

Kerr added, “This year, we honored our history by celebrating the 50th anniversary of Accreditation in Public Relations – the APR. We also made history by presenting a new award celebrating the mentors who play such a key role in supporting today’s PR professionals and tomorrow’s leaders. It was a deeply moving evening, and it was a joy to share our pride in our peers and our profession.”

The 2014 Spotlight Awards and Awards of Merit were determined by a juried process and were independently judged by the PRSA chapter in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Serving 240 public relations professionals in Oregon and Southwest Washington, PRSA’s Portland Metro Chapter supports lifelong professional development and honors excellence in public relations. Information about the chapter and the 2014 honorees is available at

2014 Awards of Distinction

With more than 30 years of experience in public relations, advertising and marketing, Kathryn Hubbell, APR, MS, Fellow PRSA, received the chapter’s highest honor, the William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award. Hubbell runs Adscripts, Inc. Public Relations Consulting and Training and teaches public relations at Marylhurst University.

Frank Grady, founder and chair of the advertising and public relations agency Grady Britton, received the Ron Schmidt Community Involvement Award, which honors the outstanding use of public relations to support important causes.

Considered an indicator of people to watch in the PR industry, the New Professional Award of Excellence was presented to Colby Reade, APR, Account Manager at The Hoffman Agency.

A new award, the Olga M. Haley Mentorship Award, was presented to Patti Atkins, APR, Chuck Williams, APR, and Mara Woloshin, APR, Fellow PRSA. Atkins, Williams and Woloshin have acted as mentors in leading the chapter’s nationally recognized Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) program. The award is named for Olga Haley, a leader in public relations across the Portland metro area and a mentor to new professionals throughout her two-decade career. Her background included leadership roles at Gerber and Leopold Ketel, where she spent most of her career before forming her own firm, Power Public Relations. A winner of the chapter’s William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award, Olga Haley died in March 2014.

2014 Spotlight Awards

  • Rachel DeRosia and Melanie Moir, Portland General Electric – Community Relations
  • Maxwell PR + Engagement & Kettle Brand – Creative Tactic
  • Colehour + Cohen & Harvest Power – Event or Observance
  • Hannah Rand, Frause for Old Town Pizza – Event or Observance
  • Kaiser Permanente Northwest – Event or Observance
  • Robeson Communications, Maxwell PR + Engagement & Oregon’s North Coast – Event or Observance
  • Summer Young-Jelinek, Vox Public Relations Public Affairs & Pain Consultants of Oregon – Event or Observance
  • Gary Rubin (APR) and Sabrina Peters, CMD & Timber Products Company – Integrated Communications
  • Maxwell PR + Engagement & McMenamins, Anderson School Properties – Integrated Communications
  • Sherryll Hoar, Shannon Priem (APR) and Mark Glyzewski, Salem Health and Rick Yurk, BAM! Design – Internal Communications
  • LANE & Thoma Bravo, LLC – Investor Relations
  • Helen Baldus, Watershed Communications & League of Kitchens – Marketing Consumer Product or Service
  • Danielle Veneski, Wendy Carhart, Alyson Angelo, Breana Landman, Joani Jones, Devon Downeysmith and Dana Prainito, Edelman & Vulcan Inc. – Media/Blogger Relations
  • Gary Rubin (APR) and Roger Rutan, CMD & Timber Products Company – Newsletter
  • Hannah Rogers and Kara Hansen, Hubbell Communications – Public Affairs
  • Maxwell PR + Engagement & McMenamins – Reputation/Brand Management
  • Erika Gregg, Portland General Electric – Reputation/Brand Management
  • Samantha Clemans, Portland General Electric – Social Media/Digital Communications
  • AM:PM PR & Wilder Newport – Social Media/Digital Communications
  • Art Sasse, Julie Yamamoto (APR), Liz Johnston, and Scott Horlbeck, CMD & Iberdrola Renewables – Social Media/Digital Communications
  • Maxwell PR + Engagement & USA Dry Pea and Lentil Council – Social Media/Digital Communications

2014 Awards of Merit

  • Holly Hagerman, Green Rising Marketing – Annual Report
  • Kymra Knuth, Kali Bean, Carey Kerns, Sara Staffaroni, Michelle Favalora, Megan Bauer, and Callie Gisler, The Hoffman Agency & Nautilus Inc. – Blog
  • Edelman & Entegra – Business to Business
  • Edelman & Wilocity – Business to Business
  • Shannon Huggins and Emily Owens, ESCO Corporation & The Forest Park Conservancy – Community Relations
  • Edelman & Tree Top, Inc. – Event or Observance
  • Andrea Hand, Celena Carr, and Erika Gregg, Portland General Electric – Event or Observance
  • Lisa Donoughe, Watershed Communications & Downtown Marketing Initiative – Event or Observance
  • Gary Grossman, Jaren Anderson and Joani Jones, Edelman & AMD – Global Communications
  • Kymra Knuth, Kali Bean, Carey Kerns, Sara Staffaroni, Michelle Favalora, Megan Bauer, and Callie Gisler, The Hoffman Agency & Nautlius Inc. – Marketing Consumer Product or Service
  • ESCO Corporation Corporate Communications and Marketing – Reputation/Brand Management
  • Jennifer Werdel, Hannah Rand, and Kelliann Amico (APR), Frause, & Rose Villa Senior Living – Reputation/Brand Management
  • Jordan Curtis, Edelman & Tree Top, Inc. – Social Media/Digital Communications
  • Mark Mohammadpour (APR), U.S. Army with Weber Shandwick – Social Media/Digital Communications


Leave a comment