PRSA Portland Metro Chapter

Kathryn Hubbell Named PRSA’s William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient


Aug 14



Media Contact
Mark Mohammadpour, APR
PRSA Portland Metro Chapter
(360) 609-1077,

Kathryn Hubbell Named PRSA’s William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Named after the “Dean of Public Relations in Oregon,” the William W. Marsh Award will be presented at the 2014 Spotlight Awards ceremony on Oct. 16 in Portland, in honor of Hubbell’s 30+ years in public relations.

Portland, Ore., August 29, 2014 – Kathryn D. Hubbell, APR, M.S., Fellow PRSA, is the recipient of the 2014 William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement award for her work in advancing the field of public relations. The annual award is presented by the Public Relations Society of America’s (PRSA) Portland Metro Chapter.

Kathy High ResHubbell will be honored at the PRSA Spotlight Awards, held on Oct. 16 from 5:30-9:30 p.m. at LeftBank Annex, 101 N. Weidler St., Portland, Ore. Information and registration are available at

The award is presented to a chapter member who has advanced the field of public relations, accomplished landmark professional achievements, and furthered the mission of PRSA and the Portland Metro Chapter. The chapter’s Awards of Distinction Committee reviews nominations for the William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award based on the award criteria and guidelines. Information about the Marsh award is available at

In her 30+ years in public relations, Hubbell worked with environmental firms, various industries, performing arts, small business, health care and tourism, and led pro bono efforts to educate and support U.S. military enlistees on mandated vaccines in ways that empowered military men and women about health risks. Currently, she is an independent public relations consultant, running Adscripts, Inc. Public Relations Consulting and Training, and teaching public relations both online and on campus at Marylhurst University outside of Portland.

“I am so grateful on two levels,” Hubbell said. “Recognition from my peers, the people whose excellence I try to emulate each day, means so much – more than words can express. And I am very grateful to walk in the footsteps of William Marsh, strengthening and expanding the program he started at Marylhurst University.”

Kathryn D. Hubbell, APR, M.S., Fellow PRSA

Kathryn D. Hubbell, APR, M.S., Fellow PRSA, holds a degree in journalism with a focus in public relations from the University of Oregon, is accredited in public relations through the Public Relations Society of America and holds a Master’s in Communications Management from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University in New York. Stories she has written for her clients have appeared in local, national and international publications and broadcast outlets, and she has won awards for her work in advertising as well as for her work in public relations.

Hubbell was the original founder of the Missoula Businesswomen’s Network in 1984, an organization still going strong with approximately 300 members; and she founded the Montana Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. She served as 2001 Chair of PRSA’s North Pacific District, encompassing eight western states; and from 2008 through 2009 served on the national PRSA Board of Directors.

At Marylhurst, she teaches classes in public relations principles, beginning and advanced writing, research, social media, video production, law and ethics, crisis communications and case studies and analysis.

William W. Marsh: “The Dean of Public Relations in Oregon.”William Marsh

The William W. Marsh Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor presented by PRSA’s Portland Metro Chapter. For nearly four decades, William W. Marsh was a towering figure in public relations in Oregon. A charter member of the Portland Metro Chapter, Marsh served as president in 1963. After 28 years in the profession, Marsh joined Marylhurst University, where he taught from 1986 to 1993, establishing a public relations certificate program.

William W. Marsh Award Honorees:

2014 – Kathy Hubbell, APR, Fellow PRSA

2013 – Darcie Meihoff, APR

2012 – Michael J. Riley, APR, PRC

2011 – Tom Unger, APR, ABC, Fellow PRSA

2010 – Lisa Donoughe

2009 – Dianne Danowski Smith, APR, Fellow PRSA

2008 – Gail Dundas, APR

2007 – Martha Crawford Richmond, APR

2006 – Timm Locke, APR

2005 – Doug Babb

2004 – Olga Haley, APR

2003 – Mara Woloshin, APR, Fellow PRSA

2002 – Carol Dillin, APR

2001 – Patty Farrell, APR

2000 – Chuck Williams, APR

1999 – Pat McCormick

1998 – Lucy Martin, APR

1997 – Vicky Hastings, APR

1996 – Brian Bell, APR

1995 – Sharon Van Sickle, APR

1994 – Mary Ann Lockwood

1993 – Barbara Peeples, APR

1992 – Rolf Glerum, APR

1991 – Liz Cawood, APR

1990 – Vernor Schenck, APR

1989 – Barbara Stallcup Miller, APR

1988 – Jean Bradley, APR

1987 – Ron Schmidt

1986 – William W. Marsh, APR

About PRSA’s Portland Metro Chapter:

Serving 240 public relations professionals in Oregon and Southwest Washington, the chapter supports lifelong professional development and honors excellence in public relations.

More than one-fifth of Portland Metro Chapter members have earned Accreditation in Public Relations (APR), the profession’s only national post-graduate certification program. Six chapter members have been elected to the PRSA College of Fellows, considered the pinnacle of a professional career.

The Portland Metro Chapter is led by an all-volunteer board of professionals from across the region. Signature events include the annual Spotlight Awards, honoring excellence in public relations, and the Communicators Conference, held in partnership with the Oregon-Columbia chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators.

The Portland Metro Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America is one of 111 PRSA chapters across the country. Information about the chapter is available at


Leave a comment