PRSA Portland Metro Chapter

Megan Bauer Selected for Jack Ewan Scholarship Award

Megan Bauer


Jun 13


Megan Bauer Selected for Jack Ewan Scholarship Award

Local PRSA Judges Unanimously Select This Year’s Award Winner

The University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communications teamed up with the Portland Metro and Greater Oregon PRSA chapters to select Megan Bauer as recipient for the Jack Ewan Scholarship Award.  The award recognizes both academic and extracurricular achievement as well as potential in a senior student.

Megan, who served as the Finance Director and ran the fundraising efforts this past school year for the UO PRSSA (Public Relations Student Society of America) chapter, was chosen based on strong academic standing, and pre-professional involvement, including a coveted internship last summer with JetBlue Airways in New York City. Additionally, in her work for the chapter, she topped several fundraising records, and took the initiative to mentor 12 other students in resume and interview preparation.

“She shows a commitment to PRSSA in many ways, including mentorship of students and taking action to restructure the budget so more students could attend the national conference,” one judge noted. “Her budget restructuring work on behalf of PRSSA directly benefitted the chapter and students.”  Additionally, Megan was lauded for her efforts to understand the financial side of the profession. “Public relations practitioners get more deeply involved in planning and budgeting than anyone ever imagined while in college so this offers her a ‘leg up’ over other graduates.”

The scholarship award totals $1,000, split between the Portland Metro PRSA chapter and the Greater Oregon PRSA chapter, each congratulate Megan and wishes her the best for her success.

Jack Ewan was a beloved journalism and public relations associate professor at UO’s Allen Hall for more than two decades.  As a member of the faculty from 1964 until his retirement in 1985, Ewan has been credited with building the school’s public relations courses into an accredited major. He founded the Public Relations Student Society of America Chapter (PRSSA)  at the University of Oregon, the first in the Northwest District. He died in 2009, but twenty-plus years before, the award was created to honor his love of PR.

This year again, established members of the Portland Metro PRSA chapter, including Tom Unger, APR, Fellow PRSA, of Wells Fargo; Vicky Hastings, APR, of Maxwell PR; Kathy Hubbell, APR, Fellow PRSA of Adscripts; Pat McCormick, APR, of AM PM PR; Olga Haley, APR of Leopold Ketel; and Dianne Danowski Smith, APR, Fellow PRSA of Publix Northwest PR- PA judged the scholarship applications.

# # #

Contact: Brad Hilliard

Leave a comment